After more than 30 years, the Marxhagen manor house opens its doors to interested visitors. Guided tours of the historic manor house ensemble provide guests with fascinating insights into the history and architecture of the estate. Visitors can also enjoy a small concert.
The castle's architect was Theodor Krüger (1818-1885), a companion of the Hanoverian Neo-Gothic founder Conrad Wilhelm Hase. After his first manor house buildings in Moltzow, Marxhagen and Harmshagen, he created his most important work with St. Paul's Church in Schwerin.
In 1905, Rittmeister Rudolph Probst briefly took over the castle, followed by Paul von Eschenburg, who sold it to Ernst Gehrke in 1937. After the end of the war in 1945, the property was expropriated, served the Soviet administration for a time and then had a variety of public uses, from refugee accommodation to a school and kindergarten to an LPG kitchen. After 1990, the castle passed to the municipality via the Treuhand, in 1994 to the Kaltenbacher family and in 2022 to the current owners, who are carefully restoring the ensemble. The estate includes the manor house, ice cellar, fieldstone barn from 1831, coach house and park. Dedicated new owners are now carefully restoring it.



